Priming better than plywood? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 04-16-2010, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

View eddy23170's Photo Album My Photos
Priming better than plywood?

I read that question in an issue of Fine Homebuilding...anyways..my question regards priming or back priming of high quality trim, baseboards, crown etc. One pro said he had no problem with seasonal joint movement when he primed the heck out of trim with a quality, oil-based primer. I am a newbie here, so should I let my trim pieces acclimate to the room (how long) and will priming my trim pieces "capture" moisture?? Finally, how should one deal with high quality stain grade trim to avoid seasonal movement...thanks all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-16-2010, 07:51 PM

View Ghidrah's Photo Album My Photos
I rarely have the luxury to allow trim to acclimate in a customers home. They want instant gratification, even when I warn them.

If I have the luxury I like to have it sitting rough cut for a couple weeks in a temp controlled room. I'm no painter but I often prime my trim before install, I leave it up to the customer to putty and paint or whoever they hire to do it.
post #3 of 8 Old 04-19-2010, 07:07 AM

View Just Bill's Photo Album My Photos
All the experts say backpriming reduces expansion, warping. Who am I to argue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 04-19-2010, 07:33 AM

View joesdad's Photo Album My Photos
In my opinion, it depends on your region and how extreme you are with the heat/ac in your house. I installed all new poplar and pine trim in my entire house five years ago (crown, casings, baseboard), and nothing has visibly moved. In the winter my house is never over 68 degrees, and in the summer it's usually around 73-75 with very little ac use. I've never back primed, but a good fit helps too.

Intellectuals solve problems, geniuses prevent them.
-Albert Einstein :http://armandj.com
post #5 of 8 Old 04-19-2010, 07:43 AM
Old School