panel molding help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 26 Old 07-10-2010, 01:17 PM Thread Starter

View jacksondxmg's Photo Album My Photos
panel molding help

Hi, my name is brian and i'm a novice at woodworking and this is my first post on the site i would have properly introduced myself but im in a bit of a hurry. I am in the process of putting in panel molding trim. They would look like this if you don't know what i mean

My problem is not putting them in on the level walls i can do that its 45 degree cuts all around, my problem is running them up the staircase like this .

I know that it is just a box slanted upward like a diamond my only problem is how do i figure out what the angle for the cuts should be in order to make it a box like that and how to cut them, any help is greatly appreciated thanks in advance!

Last edited by jacksondxmg; 07-10-2010 at 01:20 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 07-10-2010, 02:19 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
An easy way to figure out the angles is to lay a straightedge along the stairs, and use a level to get a perpendicular line. Use a protractor to get the angle. If you are close, the acute angle (the one at the bottom of the stairs) less 180 degrees, will give you the obtuse angle.

In parallelograms, there are two acute (are =), and two obtuse (are =) angles and they all add up to 360 degrees.

post #3 of 26 Old 07-10-2010, 02:39 PM Thread Starter

thanks for the reply cabinetman could i get an angle finder and us it to find the angles because there is chair railing and baseboard that runs up the steps so i can get both angles, but the problem im trying to figure out is how to cut the obtuse angles??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 07-10-2010, 05:24 PM

View Ghidrah's Photo Album My Photos