oversized face frame or trim - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 06-20-2009, 07:30 PM Thread Starter

View tiksi's Photo Album My Photos
oversized face frame or trim

I'm brand new to woodworking but have started to build cabinets/closet in a knee-wall. It's almost 24' long and so far I have 2 questions I can't find the answer to:

1. Should I make a pre-assembled face frame or treat the front of it like trim, and nail each piece to the wall as I go? If face frame is the best way to go - should I use pocket hole screws? dowels? biscuits?

2. Since it is as long as 24' (feet) how should I join the bottom and top piece of the face frame / trim? The floor is VERY uneven! (over 2 inch dips) so I'll have to scribe that piece. Do I assemble a 24' board before I start scribing or can I piece it together afterwards? And what type of joint would be the easiest to accomplish for someone with very limited skills...?

Thanks for any help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-20-2009, 07:46 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
WELCOME TO THE FORUM

If you could be more specific as to what you want to do and what is existing. You said the opening is 24' long, how deep and how high? How are the cabinets to be configured as to the total opening? A rough sketch would help...even a freehand pencil one.

post #3 of 9 Old 06-20-2009, 07:49 PM
SS user

View Gene Howe's Photo Album My Photos
I think I'd start with a 4" wide board for the bottom rail. A 24' one may be hard to come by, though. Lets assume you use 3 ea. 8' pieces.
Lay them out on the floor as they will be when assembled. Do the scribe and cut/sand.

Take the pieces and assemble the entire face frame with pocket screws.

If it were me, I would just make 3 separate 8' long face frames with pocket screws, scribing the bottoms as above. Then screw them together at their butting stiles.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 06-20-2009, 10:46 PM
Cabinetmaker