New to woodworking. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 12-22-2015, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

View Woody79's Photo Album My Photos
New to woodworking.

So I recently have become very interested in woodworking and started looking at tools I need. Yes, you read right, I don't have tools yet. The only power tools I have at home are a circular saw, dremel, and drill. I have been looking at router, miter saws, and orbital sanders. I don't plan on doing huge projects, just things for the house like a coffee table or bench. Trying to figure out what tools I'll need for sure and what brands. I'm not looking to spend a bunch of money since I'm a novice. Could use your opinions on what I need to start. Also, I've been watching a ton of videos on the router and miter saw since they seem to be an intregal part of woodworking. Any advice is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 12-22-2015, 03:14 PM

View MT Stringer's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome aboard. There are a lot of folks here that can help or give advice.

What tools? The list is endless!
A lot depends on what projects you want to tackle. My suggestion would be to keep it simple until you get more experienced.

Being able to make square cuts is very important. Some projects can be built using simple butt joints. Others need rabbets or dadoes for additional strength. And it gets more complicated from there.

So, here is the list of my tools I have aquired over the years. Note I said years!

Table saw - considered by many as the center of any good shop. You can build jigs to help make square 90 deg cuts or cuts of different angles. It also helps to rip your workpiece(s) to the desired width.

Miter saw - not a requirement but handy to have available, especially if you need to cut repetitive pieces by using a stop block. To some extent, that can also be accomplished with table saw jigs.