Metal Threshold has space beneath it - Page 2 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 03:34 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,167
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
answer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstange2 View Post
Do you have photobucket or have them on your computer?
If they are stored on your computer in MY Pictures, under My Documents, then just highlight/select them one at a time to "upload" You must wait until they upload and to see the "upload" button you must enlarge that window to full screen... bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 03:39 PM
Really underground garage
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: mnts of Va
Posts: 2,552
View BWSmith's Photo Album My Photos
Not trying to be the least bit rude but...........dang,I'm BARELY one step above being computer illiterate and can post a pic.

I take a pic,making sure camera is putting them on memory card,vs storing them internally........then I stick the card into computer.It comes up,I title it....then it loads.I just put them on the desktop(move them to a machinary folder later)temporarely.......then when adding them to a post,just find them on desktop,whilst browsing,upload and presto they appear.Just sayin that in NO way is this site for computer geeks,nerds or any other derogotory "affliction",haha.

Bill,helped me......to which I say thanks.BW

Those who say it cannot be done shouldn't interrupt the people doing it.
BWSmith is offline  
post #23 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
One at a time

Ooooh kay, one at a time has "failed" also. So I guess my jpeg file photos have too much/too large info. I will find another way. First time this has happened on any site I use, Vets, HeatingHelp, Lowes, Homedepot, USMC, Rigid tools . . . . weird.
Jimbow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Detroit Michigan
Posts: 782
View Woodworkingkid's Photo Album My Photos
try posting them on photo bucket then copy and past them here
Woodworkingkid is offline  
post #25 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
Here I go again

Here (I hope) are a few pics of the gap beneath the new threshold of my doors. Not happening.

How do I get them FROM Photobucket to here?
Jimbow is offline  
post #26 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Sawing against the Wind
 
Tennessee Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: God's beautiful hills of Middle Tennessee
Posts: 2,381
View Tennessee Tim's Photo Album My Photos
Jimbow,
The Simpliest way I know and I work with alot of photos is open the picture in whatever editing/viewing program you have( normally double click on the file you want to open and it will open into a program that computer has preset), next go to upper left corner (PC) click on "file" scroll down and click on "SAVE AS", this will let you create another file if you change the filename ( I just add the word web to the end of existing name so I know it's been reduced for web/internet use) then click on the compression rate ..." low res/highest compression" some programs are by number scale 1-10 then I normally use # 3.then tell to "save". 99.9% of the time this does the trick.

BW,
The normal reason a person can go from camera to web without reducing is because it was shot at a low resolution/file size to start with. People will set there camera settings regarding "# or size of file saved" by making the adjustment to get the MOST pics on a card which actually shoots at the lowest resolution which is fine if your not doing anything more than web or small prints. I always recommend the highest resolution in jpeg = less # of pics able to store on card BUT it allows nice enlargements to be made. And some editing programs will or can automatically adjust for the web if commanded.

I hope this helps,
Have a Blessed day in Jesus,
Tim
Tennessee Tim is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tennessee Tim For This Useful Post:
woodnthings (07-07-2011)
post #27 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
Ya got me

I have been trying to attach photos to this site for over 2 hours, tried loading them onto Photobucket, converted to thumbnail size, searched the onboard tools for this site but, alas, it will not accept my photos. I guess, as one responder stated, I need a cheap camera with minimal pixals. For now I give up. In my 15 years of computer dabling at the Vets' Center and at work, I have never encountered a Fourm or web-site that could not attach my photos. Oh, well, I give up for now.
Jimbow is offline  
post #28 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 08:03 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,167
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Hey Jim

You need to give is specific info at each step so we can determine a path for you. What camera, what setting, what format jpg?, what size, etc.
We won't give up on you yet, bud! Hang in there and get back on a ride again. All of us have fallen off a time or two. What photo software program do you use? I use Kodak Easy Share, so that's the one I am familiar with.
My Pictures,(Kodak Pictures) is where they are stored on my PC Windows XP. So that's where mine are. Like BW says you can also remove the card insert it in an adaptor, read them, download and store/save them to your desk top. Never done that myself, but I have the adaptor, just need to try it.
If you want a resizer program www.GetPaint.net is free and works for me. You can enlagre/zoom or resize and add graphics to the photos.

How about explaining how you mange to load them to other sites? bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 07-07-2011 at 08:09 PM.
woodnthings is online now  
post #29 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 08:27 PM
Old School
 
cabinetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 24,027
View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbow View Post
Here (I hope) are a few pics of the gap beneath the new threshold of my doors. Not happening.

How do I get them FROM Photobucket to here?
If you got them in photobucket, don't reduce them to thumbnails. Just make sure they are "jpeg", and around 750px wide or less. If you click on "edit" above the picture it will take you to the editing ability, where you can resize the photo.

When you are ready to copy the picture, hold the cursor over the picture, and on the [IMG] line left click. You'll see the fading word "copied" when it copies. When you make your post, and where you want to insert the picture, right click, and when the menue drops down click on "paste". That's it!!

If that doesn't work, position the cursor over the left side of the link in [IMG], and hold down so it highlights the link moving left to right. Right click to get the menu, and then left click on copy. Then post in the thread like I previously mentioned.








.
cabinetman is offline  
post #30 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
Ok, I have taken a fall or two during my motoring daze

My photos are stored on the laptop, using Windows, I believe. They are jpeg, shot with a small Panasonic, Lumix point & shoot camera, which is 8 or 9 megapixels. Normally I simply pick a photo, hit attach and it goes, sometimes very fast, other times very slow. But they always go.
Jimbow is offline  
post #31 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 08:49 PM
woodbutcherer
 
jstange2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southeastern South Dakota
Posts: 610
View jstange2's Photo Album My Photos
Another option is to cut the old threshold so it doesn't extend past the wall sheething and install a 1x cedar board under the front of the aluminum threshold after caulking between the old and new thresholds. This would be a big cheat but would work in a pinch. If it was me, I would still remove, reframe the floor, and reinstall properly.
jstange2 is offline  
post #32 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 08:52 PM
woodbutcherer
 
jstange2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southeastern South Dakota
Posts: 610
View jstange2's Photo Album My Photos
If you open your picture on your laptop, can you resize (stretch/skew) the picture in that program? What program is it?
jstange2 is offline  
post #33 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
Jimbow is offline  
post #34 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 09:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
OMG I finally got it to work. Thanks

Finally the COPY & Paste kicked it. As you can see from the pic, they stuck an old piece of white sinage under the metal threshold in an attempt to fill the void. Then they wanted to shoot calking around the shim.
Jimbow is offline  
post #35 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 09:15 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,167
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
That thing is bowed like a ships hull!

I'll betcha if you hold a straight edge from jamb to jamb the center is 1/2" down....if not, I'll buy the beers! You'll need to wedge up the center until it's straight across and then make a tapered shim that runs the full length from jam to jamb and slip it underneath. Or a bunch of shorter ones. Then it's time for sealant. It should be as easy as posting photos here..... bill
BTW it looks like the floor behind it ain't all that level either, but that's another thread.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 07-08-2011 at 06:54 AM.
woodnthings is online now  
post #36 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 09:26 PM
woodbutcherer
 
jstange2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southeastern South Dakota
Posts: 610
View jstange2's Photo Album My Photos
Absolutely no doubt. It NEEDS to be redone. Like Bill said, if it isn't bowed down where the door seals against the threshold, I need to check my water because something is going on. There is no way the floor/old threshold is flat and level under there. Pull it out carefully. pull out the old threshold. Build up the floor joists where they cut them down so the original threshold was the right height. Leave room for at least a piece of 5/8" plywood. Lay down a layer of caulk closer to the outer edge of the threshold. Shim and secure. Trim inside. Reinstall screen door. Just my opinion.
jstange2 is offline  
post #37 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 09:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
You are a Funny Man

You actually got me to crack a laugh! I agree that the gap is deeper that 3/8" but I was hope to fill it with, perhaps, a Hilti epoxy of some other rigidly hardening filler. The original sill, installed by my grandfather when he built the house, is about 2" thick and very solid. As I now understand it, they were supposed to remove the original, pitched sill and replace it with a flat surface for the new metal sill to land on. They talked a very good story, the owner, but the workers barely spoke anything, as only one spoke English. Now I am stuck fixing it. And I am no carpenter, construction worker, true, but not a carpenter. I can read a level and shim till level and plumb--but I tend to stick with piping, large and small.
Here's another look.
Jimbow is offline  
post #38 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 09:33 PM
John
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: La Crosse, Kansas
Posts: 3,028
View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennessee Tim View Post
Jimbow,
The Simpliest way I know and I work with alot of photos is open the picture in whatever editing/viewing program you have( normally double click on the file you want to open and it will open into a program that computer has preset), next go to upper left corner (PC) click on "file" scroll down and click on "SAVE AS", this will let you create another file if you change the filename ( I just add the word web to the end of existing name so I know it's been reduced for web/internet use) then click on the compression rate ..." low res/highest compression" some programs are by number scale 1-10 then I normally use # 3.then tell to "save". 99.9% of the time this does the trick.

BW,
The normal reason a person can go from camera to web without reducing is because it was shot at a low resolution/file size to start with. People will set there camera settings regarding "# or size of file saved" by making the adjustment to get the MOST pics on a card which actually shoots at the lowest resolution which is fine if your not doing anything more than web or small prints. I always recommend the highest resolution in jpeg = less # of pics able to store on card BUT it allows nice enlargements to be made. And some editing programs will or can automatically adjust for the web if commanded.

I hope this helps,
Have a Blessed day in Jesus,
Tim

Tim is right on about the camera settings. I use a 6MP camera, under Menu>Pict.Mode> select e-mail. It automatically sizes 640 x 480 resolution which I can upload directly from the camera.

John

If I strive for perfection, I can generally achieve good'nuff, If I strive for good'nuff, I generally achieve firewood
jschaben is offline  
post #39 of 50 Old 07-07-2011, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 35
View Jimbow's Photo Album My Photos
Now that I'm on a roll

Here's a look at the other door. I suppose the original sill was pitched to keep the rain water and melting snow from running under the door and into the house. These guys just wanted to seal it with calk and be done with it. Another gap big enough for a snake to crawl through, if he so chose.
Jimbow is offline  
post #40 of 50 Old 07-08-2011, 03:09 AM
Really underground garage
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: mnts of Va
Posts: 2,552
View BWSmith's Photo Album My Photos
Cool deal on the pics!

Now,for some general rambling.Can't tell from pics if these drs have any roof cvring them.IOWs,are these drs on/under some kind of porch.

Theres a rather obscure and sometimes ambiguous code that can get sited evvvvvery once in awhile.It calls for a 4" min. "step" from finished exterior flr to,(this is where it gets touchy)some measure of interior FF(finish fl).But it goes back to the time when thresholds were non-existant(a sill and threshold are 2 different things).At least its based on "once upon a time",because outside historic work,most houses have some kind of raised threshold......which further confuses the issue when inspector is trying to explain why "homey's" deck project(new deck floor level with interior FF)fails because of this code.

You mentioned G-dads original install.......we still occasionally do wooden thresholds.I'd have to go check ours,but 7 degrees pops into my head.And I've pulled.....replaced.....messed with alot in old house world.They can in some instances outperform aluminum,just sayin.Further,you want to be careful(this don't apply to you but may help someone)when ordering a dr that has attatched "sidelites".......more often than not they'll come with seperate Alum thresholds.IOW's co dosen't take the time to have one common threshold.They just take multiples and halfazz screw them together.Same happens on window sills when dbls or tripples are put together.Well,that sure isn't the way your G-dad would have done it.These would be best served with a common sill.....any "hassle" thats now consider'd when even discussing this just wasn't in our building vocabulary before say 1970.

Replacement anything(windows,doors,siding,roofs)are engineer'd today to speed install,its THAT simple.The collatoral "damage" in this notion is very simply,uhhhhh.....cracks.And don't be fooled by some chickensh*t vinyl sliding pce that gets smooshed over to fill said crack.Thats just smoke N mirrors WRT loose fitment.

I personally can't say,even after your GREAT job of posting pics,haha.......whether or not I'd jerk the whole thing.One thought on that however is whether you'll do the work or if you want a MAJOR hassle goin through original contractor.And I won't comment on that,because just like replacement anything,dealing with contractors is very much on a case by case issue.But lets say you want it done right and that means you'll be doin the work,in that case I'd let the thing stay installed for awhile and see if any other issues come to lite.IOWs wouldn't be in a big hurry to rip it out.......choosing a wait N see approach.And if testing is on the menu,a garden hose is pretty effective.

A sloped sill has advantages over whats become the norm these days,in some cases.Its just that speed is the main design criteria now and that kinda dosn't work for doin sloped sills.Or a serious flashing job,waterproofing,or any engineering where mother nature is involved.The very best of luck,BW

Those who say it cannot be done shouldn't interrupt the people doing it.

Last edited by BWSmith; 07-08-2011 at 03:24 AM.
BWSmith is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
threshold finishing ccrow Wood Finishing 3 01-07-2011 09:58 PM
Flooring Moulding/Threshold matthmelt Trim Carpentry & Built-Ins 3 12-25-2010 12:32 PM
Save some space Senior Power Tools & Machinery 1 12-23-2010 06:59 PM
White speckles beneath the finish Scribbler Wood Finishing 7 12-11-2010 05:55 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome