Laminate trim for marble table top - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 07-29-2015, 06:25 PM Thread Starter

View lfaris181's Photo Album My Photos
Question Laminate trim for marble table top

I am new to wood working and I am refinishing an antique wooden table. I want to use marble tiles as the table top. Do I need to use grout between tiles if it is just for indoor use or can I just put the tiles tightly against each other and adhere them to the table top with something like "thinset"?
I also wanted advice on trimming the outer edge of the tabletop once I attach marble tiles. Can I get a 3" or 4" flexible laminate or metal trim to wrap around and finish the table top, hiding any possible inconsistencies?
Any advice would be appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-30-2015, 06:52 AM

View mikeswoods's Photo Album My Photos
For edge trim, look in the tile section of a local store--there are many aluminum edge profiles available--Schluter makes some---go to Schluter and see--

Even on a table, wou will want a small grout line--1/16 " will do.

A modified thinset could be used---avoid any solvent based adhesives--they can stain the marble--
I have used clear silicone caulk on small projects with good success---
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeswoods For This Useful Post:
NickDIY (07-30-2015)
post #3 of 6 Old 07-30-2015, 01:43 PM

View NickDIY's Photo Album My Photos
You don't have to use the grout, but if not, I wouldn't set the tile (adhere it) either, just lay them in loose. That way, they can be removed to clean the gunk that gets between them out. Spray adhesive onto the plywood underneath could keep them from sliding, but leave them removable. In that case, I'd not use an edging like the Schluter stuff, just a rabbetted wood edging. You should be able make up the inconsistencies in the field and keep the edges flush.