Kitchen cabinet challenge - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 32 Old 01-07-2013, 09:46 PM Thread Starter

View Mark G's Photo Album My Photos
Kitchen cabinet challenge

We had our kitchen remodeled and couple of years ago and are pleased with it except for one annoying thing. The under-cabinet lights are not hidden from view at all. There is no recess under the cabinets. The bottoms are flush with the lower edge of the face frames.

So, being a newbie woodworker I seek your guidance. How can I cut, stain, finish and attache about 1.5 - 2 inches of lower trim all around all cabinets in order to shield the lights from view?

The cabinets are maple. The underside where the trim would be attached is a laminate that feels like Formica.

Here are some pics.

Kitchen cabinet challenge-frontview.jpg

Kitchen cabinet challenge-backview.jpg

Kitchen cabinet challenge-endview.jpg

I think I can source and cut the right kind of wood. I might even whip out the router to put a decorative flare on it. (Or not.)

The things that concern me:
- How thick front-to-back should the trim be?
- How to attach the wood trim to the laminate? Gorilla glue? Screws? Something else?
- How to abut the trim pieces? Some will meet at 90 degrees. Some will meet at about 45 degrees.
- How to match the color? I've seen some YouTube vids and read up on this, but if you have your favorite link or method please share.
- How to match the finish. The factor finish is somewhere between low gloss and eggshell.

Thanks in advance.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mark G For This Useful Post:
1avrgjoe (01-15-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 01-07-2013, 10:06 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Mark,
check out this link from Kraftmaid. It shows their light rail molding.
http://www.kraftmaid.com/products/de...ents/ilr_md06/

Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 32 Old 01-07-2013, 10:13 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkmph View Post
Mark,