Inset Doors - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 06-17-2009, 09:47 PM Thread Starter

View Aragorn's Photo Album My Photos
Inset Doors

Hi, a relative woodworking newbie here.

After some success with earlier cabinets and overlay doors I thought I’d try something more challenging.

The inset doors are made and are dead-on square. And I made them just 1/16 larger all around than the opening -- for trimming.
My problem is that when I was gluing and clamping the carcass I measured the diagonals, and they were exactly equal so I left it at that. I foolishly neglected to check the corners with a framing square; so now I have a 'slight' trapezoid. (About a 1/16 strong across 22 inches - enough so that the gaps will look unacceptable)

I don’t want to have to build another carcass because it’s made of cherry – expensive. Can I cut a long slender wedge and glue that along one side to ‘straighten’ out the trapezoid? What might be the best way to fix this that will hopefully be the most aesthetically pleasing?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 06-17-2009, 10:04 PM

View toolman Steve's Photo Album My Photos
First is the out side of the cabinet also out of square . if so remove the back and square the cabinet.
If the cabinet is not out of square or if you can't remove the back.You may have to match the doors to the cabinet .
post #3 of 12 Old 06-17-2009, 10:49 PM
ecw

View ecw's Photo Album My Photos
Aragorn, can you post a pic or two for clarification & or so i can learn with you? what details, if any(profiles) are on the door & or frame; fluted, raised, stepped, flush? are you saying that you made "inset" doors 1/16" larger than the openings? forgive my ignorance but when you say "carcass" are speaking of the face frame? eric
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 Old 06-18-2009, 08:52 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aragorn View Post
Hi, a relative woodworking newbie here.