Ideas for a built-in walk in closet? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 08-21-2012, 02:02 PM Thread Starter

View Bond's Photo Album My Photos
Question Ideas for a built-in walk in closet?

Hi all,

I am new to the whole woodworking scene, but I have been reading up and watching a lot of wood working video's. We recently bought a house, and I have quite a few plans for it.

The first project I would like to tackle is our walk in closet. It is 15' long and 10' wide, so it is fairly large. It has carpet on the floor and some wire shelving for hanging clothes. Here is what I would like to do. I want to remove carpet and install hardwood flooring. Then I would like to install built-in closet with french doors all around.

For the closet, I was thinking of framing the basic structure using 2X4's and then use plywood to finish the sides. The front will have french doors.

My questions are,

1) Is this an acceptable approach? Is framing out the whole structure using 2X4 a bit of an over kill. Also, will the 2X4's wrap/twist in the future if I were to use regular Kline-dried studs from big box stores?

2) I would like to stain the 2X4's and the plywood in Brazilian Cherry color, since the floors will be of that color. Can I stain the studs and plywood and will they differ in color because of the difference in materials?

3) To make the french doors, I will buy stile and rail router bits. What type of wood should I buy for for this? Again, these I want to stain in Brazilian cherry too

4) What is the best place to buy materials? Big box stores or a lumber yard? Just so you know, I have never been to a lumber yard before and I don't know any around Bolingbrook, IL