Woodworking Talk banner

How rigid is the 24" max drawer width listed limit on drawer slides?

2K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  J.C. 
#1 ·
Not a beginner woodworker, but complete novice at cabinetry and have recently just finished a fairly odd sized built in for an alcove area for our bathroom. The carcass turned out great and fits very well. The problem I am having is with the drawer slides. Oh man did they kick my tail the first time I tried. I was SURE I had everything installed correctly and then when I put the drawer in...well, let's just say it was probably the worst motion of a drawer I have ever seen! Oh well, I learned a bit that is for sure.

The slides that I have are 12" (with rear extension brackets added) KV 3450FM. Carcass does have a face frame. Two door cabinet on bottom and a wide drawer on the top, separated by a stile. One unfixable mistake I made is that I actually added a spreader flush with the top of the stile that separates the cabinet and the drawer. It's not a huge deal, I don't think, but makes installation slightly a little more difficult.

A few other problems that I caused was that I wasn't mounting the front of the slide 1/16" back and I had the Bottom of the slide sitting directly on top of the spreader/top edge of stile instead of raised about a 1/4". Pretty sure this doesn't matter too awful much in the grand scheme of things.