how do you guys bid trim work? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 11-06-2012, 08:50 AM Thread Starter

View troyd1976's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to troyd1976
how do you guys bid trim work?

Hey guys, im a painter by trade, i have a client whom would like me to also do the trim out. its fairly simple, pre-hung doors, pre primed mdf trim boards, etc. all materials are being provided. the best way ive thought up so far is to look basically at the time to install doors, cabinets, with simple casing and base do you all price based on time or do you do a lin footage? also out of general curiosity, as this house has no stairs, do you do the labor for rails by your time or the lin foot or?.
Painting in residential new construction is typically done by the square foot, but that seems impractical with all of the variables of trim work.
thanks in advance for all reply's.. the change of pace here would be i will be cussing myself come time to caulk it all in and reset nails
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 11-06-2012, 10:32 AM

View Hammer1's Photo Album My Photos
By the day based on many years of experience and with the knowledge of what the going prices are.
post #3 of 17 Old 11-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
If materials are being provided, by the hour, or by the day would CYA.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 11-06-2012, 09:38 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos