Help with compound miter cut - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 2 Post By BigJim

post #1 of 13 Old 12-06-2017, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

View Christopher Adis's Photo Album My Photos
Question Help with compound miter cut

Novice here. I'm trying to add some cove molding but having a tough time figuring out the cut for the turn on my stairs. Please see attached photo. Can anyone here offer some guidance on how to finish this off? Huge thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171206_121832.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	328113  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 12-06-2017, 01:01 PM

View gj13us's Photo Album My Photos
This would be trial-and-error for me. What if you used a third piece? The near end of the horizontal piece can be cut at a 45° angle. A very small third piece can be mitered at 45° to meet it at the corner. Then the banister piece can be cut back to meet the "upstairs" edge of the third piece. Like this: the blue is the cove, the red are the cuts, the brown the post and banister.
Attached Images

post #3 of 13 Old 12-06-2017, 01:30 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
This is indeed a puzzle. I know how I would do it, but I cannot think how to explain it so somebody else could do it.

Basically you have to measure the angle that the piece coming down the stairs meets the horizontal piece. Then you tilt the saw to this same angle. Your measurement may be off some since you have a very short horizontal surface, so I would undercut the angle and work my way to the finish angle.

Ii am assuming that you have a compound miter saw.

George
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 12-06-2017, 01:38 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
you need a trasition piece... 3rd piece

You can not mate those two sections even though they are identical, one being on an angle. The transition piece will hide the mismatch.