Hanging melamine cabinets on concrete - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 05-04-2007, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member from MN

View Daveb's Photo Album My Photos
Hanging melamine cabinets on concrete

I am an amateur woodworker and new to this forum. I have a question as to how best to hang cabinets to a concrete wall, without risk of them pulling out of the wall.

I am making a set of three melamine cabinets out of 3/4 sheets (1/2 for the back), and the largest has dimensions of roughly 3ftx3ft. I am hanging them on a concrete basement wall above a washer/dryer. The cabinets will not tie to the ceiling or floor.

To avoid conduit and other items, the backs will be offset from the wall by 1 1/2 to 2 inches.

I plan to make hangars by ripping a board in half at a 45 degree angle, with one piece attached to the wall and the other to the cabinet. I also plan to use concrete anchor screws.

My question is this. With such a large offset from the wall, the hangar stock will be fairly thick, which might put more stress on the anchor screws, even if I recess the screws into the hangar.

Is there a better way to do this or any further suggestions? Or am I worrying about nothing?

Is one hangar for each cabinet enough?

Also, I have had varying success with the concrete anchor screws (Tapcon). Occasionally, the screws do not grab as tightly as I'd like. Other times they are rock solid.

Thanks! Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-04-2007, 03:38 PM

View send_it_all's Photo Album My Photos
I see no reason why this set up wouldnt work as long as you get a good grab with the achors....I would probably use a red head style anchor myself, instead of tapcons, but if they grab, it should be fine.
post #3 of 6 Old 05-07-2007, 09:50 PM

View nywoodwizard's Photo Album My Photos