Fireplace mantle construction - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 24 Old 07-18-2015, 02:12 PM Thread Starter

View tinstar's Photo Album My Photos
Fireplace mantle construction

I've been asked by a friend to build a mantle for her fireplace. She is having her house remodeled and this is a part of the project. I've never built a mantle but it seems like something that's best built on site by the contractors trim guy. The pic she sent is a painted mantle that could be made up of various crown and bead moulding. While I'm sure I can build it, as a contractor myself, I don't like when a client brings in their own sub so I'm thinking of passing on it. I'd appreciate any opinions.
The Following User Says Thank You to tinstar For This Useful Post:
Chrisayrescarpentry (08-24-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 07-18-2015, 04:00 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
Does your friend want a self standing mantle or a wall mounted mantle?
The Following User Says Thank You to Toolman50 For This Useful Post:
post #3 of 24 Old 07-18-2015, 04:04 PM
Wood Snob

View Al B Thayer's Photo Album My Photos
Don't bow out till you put a big number on it. Make it worth your while. You may find they like the price and you both are going to be happy$$$$$$

Al

The Following User Says Thank You to Al B Thayer For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 24 Old 07-18-2015, 04:22 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
you were asked by a friend...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinstar View Post