Drawer face construction - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 02-23-2013, 03:27 PM Thread Starter

View cburdick1's Photo Album My Photos
Drawer face construction

Hello all.

I'm constructing a built-in office piece for our kitchen and I'm going to try and match the existing cabinetry drawer style. See picture below:

I'm not an expert at making profiled drawer pieces, so I'm unsure as to the best way to handle the construction of that interior 1/4 round profile. Generally, I cut the Dado for the panel from top to bottom on the stiles and then cut tenons in the rails to fit the channel in the stile (the panel rides in the same channel as well). My first thought would be to cut the pieces to size, rout the 1/4 round profile in the stiles and rails, cut the tenons etc and then miter only the 1/4 profile to fit. (parts view below)

My concern is getting a sloppy fit on that 1/4 round profile. Is there a simpler way to do this?

Thanks!

-CB
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 02-23-2013, 03:37 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The easiest way to make a drawer front like that is just to make a tongue and groove frame like you have illustrated except without the molded edge. After it is assembled and sanded the molding can be mitered and applied last.
post #3 of 15 Old 02-23-2013, 03:47 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
What are the sizes of the drawer fronts? For small (in height), they usually are made as just a solid panel. For sizes like a file drawer front, a R&S looks good. For what you're doing it might be just as easy to make the drawer and then just add the moulding like an afterthought.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 02-23-2013, 03:57 PM Thread Starter

I've thought about adding the moulding after the face. That may well be the easiest method. As for slab fronts, I'd go that route, but the rest of the kitchen cabinets don't have slab fronts, so That's not the way to go.