Curved Trim at Base of Stairs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 02-26-2017, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member from MN

View Daveb's Photo Album My Photos
Curved Trim at Base of Stairs

This winter, we pulled up the old carpeting from the stairs (and entire upper floor). Our house was built in 1939, so all the floors are hardwood. The stairs are a beautiful mahogany. The trim is painted white upstairs, and the the contractor installed new painted trim along the baseboards upstairs. But he bailed before finishing the sections needing mahogany trim. Also, the original mahogany is some species that is illegal to sell now.

So I made some trim from Honduran mahogany. The straight pieces were fairly easy to make with the table saw and router. But the curved piece was a challenge. I decided to make strips an bend it. This is my first time attempting to bend wood. A 1/8 inch test strip was too thick for this radius and broke. So I cut a batch at 1/16 each, while keeping track of the order for grain matching. I made a form and was advised at the cabinet shop where I bought the wood that it would bend back quite a lot when I take it out of the form. It didn't. I made the form so that one leg was bent inward 1/2 extra inch. It bent back only about 1/8 - 3/16 inch, and I planned for 1/2 inch. But it will still fit OK once nailed in. I did not soak the wood in water before bending because I wanted to be sure the glue bonded well with the strips. I suppose I could have used thicker strips if I would have soaked the wood in water.