Coping crown molding - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 31 Old 06-23-2014, 07:47 PM Thread Starter

View jjrbus's Photo Album My Photos
Coping crown molding

I have little experience doing crown molding and do not have a lot of extra molding for this job. I have done coping before and was happy with it.

Most of what I have done was simple profiles in soft material and was being painted, so a bit of caulk was used.

I have a good miter saw, with a nice sharp blade and do ok with measuring the angles. This is a 60 degree corner, so the cope will be 30 degrees, if that makes a difference.

I am looking at this molding and thinking it may be difficult to work with? For inside corners might I be better to just miter them?? I only have 2 inside corners.

I have a friend who is a real trim carpenter but do not know the next time he will be in FL? May be a long wait.

Thanks JIm Master mistaker
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 06-23-2014, 07:59 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
I wouldn't worry about the angle if you are coping. It doesn't matter. If you feel more comfortable with mitering it, and can get a good fit, do that.

post #3 of 31 Old 06-24-2014, 07:36 AM Thread Starter

Thanks Cabinetman, I am surprised you are the only responder! If you were doing this for yourself would you miter or cope?? This is in the kitchen at the top of the wall cabinets.
JIm
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 31 Old 06-24-2014, 08:10 AM
Old School

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrbus View Post
Thanks Cabinetman, I am surprised you are the only responder! If you were doing this for yourself would you miter or cope?? This is in the kitchen at the top of the wall cabinets.
JIm
Here's what I'm thinking. Using a coping saw or a jig saw, that profile is fairly intricate. I would likely cope it, as I've done that many times and am comfortable with the handwork.