Chair rail angle - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 05-30-2013, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

View htank's Photo Album My Photos
Chair rail angle

My brother is trying replace this chair rail running up the back stairs, but is having a small problem with the angle. I told him to to find the angle and half it. I am not a professional, so I just wanted to throw this out there and see if that was the right answer or if there is a better way. Thanks, here's a pic of it
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-30-2013, 07:17 PM
Custom stair builder

View Treeoflifestairs.com's Photo Album My Photos
The easy way of doing it with no math involved is to take the pieces that will go in those two spots and hold them where they will be going one at a time and draw a line along the top and bottom of the moulding. You will end up with two sets of parallel lines that intersect each other. Now again, hold one piece on the wall and mark the place where the lines intersect on the top and bottom of the moulding. Line those two marks up on your mitersaw and that's the angle of the cut. You want the angles of both pieces to be the same but opposite.

Staircases usually have a pitch of about 35-39 degrees so I would expect that miter to be about 18 degrees give or take.

Check out some of my custom stairs
The Following User Says Thank You to Treeoflifestairs.com For This Useful Post:
OnealWoodworking (05-30-2013)
post #3 of 9 Old 05-30-2013, 07:47 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeoflifestairs.com View Post