Carpentry Tool Question! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kerrys

post #1 of 16 Old 03-29-2016, 06:56 AM Thread Starter

View Aviva's Photo Album My Photos
Question Carpentry Tool Question!

Hi,
I am a consultant working on a project in the tool industry and I would greatly appreciate your insight for my project!

I was wondering whether carpenters use levels in their work, and if so, how many levels do carpenters own?

Is brand important for a level? If so, which brands do you like?

Thanks so much for your insight!
Aviva
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 03-29-2016, 07:36 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
I just use a 4' level and a torpedo level. The brand isn't important to me. You can tell pretty quickly if it's made right or not by laying it on a surface and turn it 180 degrees and see if it reads the same.
post #3 of 16 Old 03-29-2016, 09:21 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
I have 6 different levels made by Stabila. From a torpedo to a 4'. They are made in Germany and have machined glass vials that are not only very accurate, but have a bubble that doesn't shoot quickly from end to end in the vial. They are guaranteed to stay accurate even if you drop them off of a 55' tall roof.
Mike Hawkins:smile3:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 03-29-2016, 11:27 PM
World's Tallest Midget

View Mort's Photo Album My Photos
Stabila levels are heirloom quality. If I needed one to rely on I'd get one, but as an excavator we usually work to the nearest foot or two.

I hate signatures.
post #5 of 16 Old 01-13-2017, 10:47 AM

View Trimcannon's Photo Album My Photos
As a trim carpenter, I usually have 4 levels. A 4 footer, 2 footer, a torpedo and a 6'6" level for kitchen installs. Most of mine are Empire brand.
post #6 of 16 Old 01-13-2017, 11:28 AM

View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos