Cabinets for BBQ Trailer - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 03-22-2008, 05:02 PM Thread Starter

View Plowboy's Photo Album My Photos
Cabinets for BBQ Trailer

I'm picking up a custom built BBQ trailer next weekend. Building my own cabinets, which I've never done before. Planning to use cherry for the facing material. What material should I use for the guts of the cabinet and drawers? I don't want to add a lot of weight to the trailer. It will sit outside in the winter and summer. The trailer is black, so it will get hot in there. I'm okay with painted interiors or whatever.

I've never worked with cherry. I have some lumber that I bought five years ago in my stash. It was fairly pink when I bought and it hasn't seen any real light. Should I cut my dimensional pieces now and set outside so that the sunlight can set a uniform color? I'm just not used to using cherry except as a smoking wood. One of the reasons I'm using cherry is because it is the choice wood for BBQ'ers. A little bit of symbolism.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Todd's Trailer c (Small).jpg
Views:	727
Size:	44.9 KB
ID:	2800  

Name:	Todd's Trailerb (Small).jpg
Views:	494
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	2801  

Name:	Todd's Trailer e.jpg
Views:	1228
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	2802  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-22-2008, 05:23 PM Thread Starter

Also, do I need to get my stock from the same source for consistency? Will any cherry wood age and color the same?
post #3 of 8 Old 04-03-2008, 10:19 AM

View Spartan_Caver's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Watch out For Health Inspections