Built in cabinetry question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 03-13-2009, 02:08 PM Thread Starter

View docleon's Photo Album My Photos
Built in cabinetry question

I am a hobbyist woodworker, so I don't pretend to know about professional cabinet making. I recently ordered a very expensive built in entertainment unit for my home with a paint finish. I was very surprised when the unit arrived that it was composed solely of cabinet grade plywood and veneered MDF. I was under the impression that high end cabinetry was made of solid wood. Is there truth to the argument that painted finish is better on coated MDF for wear and tear?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-13-2009, 02:46 PM

View RussBoyd's Photo Album My Photos
cabinet

I think most of the guys would say, Yes, most (if not all) HIGH END cabinetry is made from solid wood (and some ply). As far as the veneer goes, I don't know why they would veneer something that was to be painted, but mdf is used as a veneer core a lot because of it's stability. Any good painter can end up with as good a job on wood as on mdf, but mdf does paint better on the average. Russ
post #3 of 10 Old 03-13-2009, 10:22 PM
Senior Sawdust Producer

View Leo G's Photo Album My Photos
Very expensive is relative. Most mass produced products are made this way. MDF is a good paintable surface, but it is not very strong.

Measure Twice Cut Once -- It's a lot easier to cut more off then it is to cut MORON.
Finishing is 3 parts chemistry and 1 part VooDoo http://lrgwood.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 03-13-2009, 11:47 PM
Chief pencil holder

View scribbles's Photo Album My Photos
Mdf has its uses; the builder should have explained what you were going to receive. I like poplar for anything with a load on it, and mdf for just ascetic panels. If it is a door with glass in it, I use maple.
post #5 of 10 Old 03-14-2009, 02:13 AM

View clampman's Photo Album My Photos
Scribbles,