Anyone have experience making glass cabinet doors? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 08-25-2014, 03:08 PM Thread Starter

View bauerbach's Photo Album My Photos
Anyone have experience making glass cabinet doors?

They are for an entertainment center, so glass is required as I do not want to run a repeater for everything.

should I just buy doors premade?

I estimate a door will cost me ~60/ea. I need 4 of them for the initial project. I figure $240 should easily buy me a router set to do the job, and then I can make doors forever.

but I believe the grill will require a mortise... which I am not experienced at and can only make with a chisel. Buying a mortiser machine would be another $300 that Id rather avoid.

Any tips? router sets that people have used with good results?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-25-2014, 11:49 PM
Ole Woodworker

View BigJim's Photo Album My Photos
If you plan to make your own doors and mullions for the glass you are going to have to put out a few bucks to do it. A good rail and stile set will run over $100, then you will need a pretty good router, I would recommend the Bosch 1617evspk
http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-1617EVSP.../dp/B00005RHPD
2 1/4 HP 1/2 inch collet and can be used in a router table or handheld plung.

You will need a mullion bit and a cutter like this one to make the joints to connect the mullions.
http://www.eagleamerica.com/product/...ndow_door_trim

It depends if you plan to make individual panes or one sheet of glass with add on mullions as to the difficulty and amount of work it will take to make the doors.

There are cheaper rail and stile sets on the market but I would advise buying as good as you can afford. The really cheap sets will not do well for you and won't last long and some will be out of balance and vibrate bad.