advice on trimming a cabinet apron over sink - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 02-15-2012, 08:53 PM Thread Starter

View Bob the Painter's Photo Album My Photos
advice on trimming a cabinet apron over sink

You know the type, it has scallops, as a painter I am quite expert, but I need to cut this down, what it the best thing to do (other than call a trim carpenter, it is a tiny job). Jigsaw, I dunno.....

I have seen where guys have managed to wiggle it out, others have pushed it out with damage, seems like the best thing to do is get it off, cut it and put it back up. I know it is elementary but I am no expert on carpentry and am afraid I will screw up the job. It just looks so out dated. I know a place where they can make me something new but getting the damn thing out is the biggest issue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-15-2012, 09:16 PM

View wooddude's Photo Album My Photos
well painter bob i think what u are describing is called a valance usually between two upper cabinets normally they are fastened from inside of the cabinets with either screws or nails,if screwed in place thats easy remove the screws,if nailed you may have to dig out the head of the nail i would use a pair of dikes to grip the head and pull far enouph out to get a hammer on it with one side removed you should be able to wiggle the other side out
post #3 of 7 Old 02-15-2012, 10:15 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by wooddude View Post
well painter bob i think what u are describing is called a valance usually between two upper cabinets normally they are fastened from inside of the cabinets with either screws or nails,if screwed in place thats easy remove the screws,if nailed you may have to dig out the head of the nail i would use a pair of dikes to grip the head and pull far enouph out to get a hammer on it with one side removed you should be able to wiggle the other side out