internet to my shop - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 Old 04-10-2019, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
croaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 471
View croaker's Photo Album My Photos
internet to my shop

want to get internet to my shop
have wifi but it is almost out of range and slow.
there is a old ploy water pipe running to the shop not being used .
is it it possible to run cat 5 in hit and how?
croaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 04-10-2019, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,992
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by croaker View Post
want to get internet to my shop
have wifi but it is almost out of range and slow.
there is a old ploy water pipe running to the shop not being used .
is it it possible to run cat 5 in hit and how?
I don't know if I've ever known the real name for it. It's always been referred to me as a rat. It's a soft puffy thing with a hook on the end of it you could tie a string to. You insert it in the pipe and blow it out the other end with compressed air. Then tie the string to the wire and pull it through.
Steve Neul is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 04-10-2019, 11:15 PM
Wood machinist
 
difalkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NW Louisiana
Posts: 3,434
View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
How long is the run to the shop? You can't run CAT5 more than 300' (actually 100 meters, but you get the idea).

David
Jim Frye likes this.

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
difalkner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
TomCT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,246
View TomCT2's Photo Album My Photos
there are directional antennas for routers,

there are ultra sensitive antennas for boosters,

there are relay modules.


if the electricity is fed to the shop from the house, there are gadgets you plug into an outlet in the house and in the shop; the signal piggy backs on the electric wires. for best results, use the same (110v) leg at each end.
https://www.howtogeek.com/210895/how...ne-networking/
Jim Frye likes this.
TomCT2 is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 11,738
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Just get a longer range router or a repeater.


George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #6 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 05:43 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 25,695
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I have this one ......

This the one I have and it works OK:
https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-AC750...s%2C253&sr=8-3
Kerrys likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 08:53 PM
Ancient Termite
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 438
View NoThankyou's Photo Album My Photos
As an old phart of a retired Propeller Head, I would be very leery of code and anal retentive building inspectors. In reality a PVC pipe isn't any different than PVC conduit. Although Cat 5 / 5 E or 6 is intended for false ceilings (plenum or not) and inside walls it should work in PVC piping. In theory, building inspectors are supposed to ignore low voltage wiring (Except in the plenum.) but the magic words "Unused water pipe" rear their ugly head. The plenum requires Teflon jacketed for fire protection as a fresh air source, but see soap box below.

The only thing that I would be concerned about is "Unused water pipe" and there may be residual water left in the pipe. Knowing that we are supposed to avoid running Cat 5 next to metal, the possibility of water or wet environment would concern me. If you have plenum approved (i.e. Teflon jacketed) Cat 5, that may be good enough. However I don't know for sure about the effects of water on the Teflon jacket long term.

Soap Box
----------
During the Apollo program, according to NASA specs 158B and MSFC 202 (?), cautions were noted about using thermal strippers on Teflon wire due to toxic fumes.
---------------
End Soap Box

Rich
In furniture 1/32" is a Grand Canyon

Last edited by NoThankyou; 04-11-2019 at 08:56 PM.
NoThankyou is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Kerrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Sedro Woolley, WA
Posts: 720
View Kerrys's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
This the one I have and it works OK:
https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-AC750...s%2C253&sr=8-3
I use the same extender. My shop is around forty to fifty feet from my house. It is a sheet metal building so I had to position the extender on the wall closest to the house in order for it to work.
Kerrys is online now  
post #9 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 09:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
croaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 471
View croaker's Photo Album My Photos
Water pipe might be kinda the wrong term.
My dad buried poly water pipe next to the electrical service to the garage to wash cars.
Over time it froze and leaked so quit using it.It is connected to nothing.
I think the distance to garage is less than 100 feet.
I really dislike wifi would prefer direct wired.
croaker is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,992
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by croaker View Post
Water pipe might be kinda the wrong term.
My dad buried poly water pipe next to the electrical service to the garage to wash cars.
Over time it froze and leaked so quit using it.It is connected to nothing.
I think the distance to garage is less than 100 feet.
I really dislike wifi would prefer direct wired.
If the pipe is broken somewhere where it's getting water in it chances are there will be dirt too. I think I would blow air or water through the pipe first before making any attempt to get the stuff to run a wire through there. If it's just water I think I would purchase direct bury wire just in case. The pipe wouldn't be helping you except for having to dig a ditch to run it.
Steve Neul is offline  
post #11 of 36 Old 04-11-2019, 10:48 PM
CharleyL
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Central North Carolina
Posts: 141
View CharleyL's Photo Album My Photos
Any water or moisture in the pipe will change the characteristics of the Cat 5 cable. If the pipe is dry inside and stays that way you will probably be OK to use it. YMMV.

If it was me, I would certainly try it. You only have a long piece of cable to waste. If it doesn't work, try extenders with long range antennas.

I have a friend who made a directional antenna by putting one of the antennas inside a large juice can and aims it at the router in another building some 600' away. It works for him. There are plans for these antennas on YouTube.

Charley

Last edited by CharleyL; 04-11-2019 at 10:50 PM.
CharleyL is offline  
post #12 of 36 Old 04-12-2019, 12:21 AM
Ancient Termite
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 438
View NoThankyou's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by croaker View Post
I really dislike wifi would prefer direct wired.
Yeah it's really a pain in the patotie when your neighbor knocks on the door asking for his printout.

Rich
In furniture 1/32" is a Grand Canyon
NoThankyou is offline  
post #13 of 36 Old 04-12-2019, 05:47 AM
johnep
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Anglia UK
Posts: 1,898
View johnep's Photo Album My Photos
My son works for a network supplier. he sent me this:

As long as they have line of sight they will need the following items.

Cables need to be run to the out side wall of the house and the shed..

They will just need to add cables and ** IT skills ** to install.

The link https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/produ...i-ns-5acl-kit/

To power the link - 2 needed https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/produ...-poe-24-24w-g/

Brackets 2 need https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/produ...ble-es-wm-ns1/

Wifi for in the workshop - connects to the link via cable https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/produ...ac-lite-cloud/
- Show quoted text -
---
This email has been checked for viruses by AVG.

johnep
johnep is offline  
post #14 of 36 Old 04-12-2019, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Maintenance Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 123
View Maintenance Man's Photo Album My Photos
Just fyi they do make a waterproof/direct bury cat6 cable. I'd use that poly pipe in a heartbeat.... Run the direct bury if your worried about moisture in the pipe. Cut the ends off if they impede pulling through the pipe and crimp new ones on once your through the conduit.



https://www.amazon.com/Outdoor-Water.../dp/B002HFEBYM
woodnthings likes this.

A handful of patience is worth a bushel of brains...

Last edited by Maintenance Man; 04-12-2019 at 07:27 AM.
Maintenance Man is online now  
post #15 of 36 Old 04-12-2019, 11:14 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
View rushers's Photo Album My Photos
You can use wifi router
rushers is offline  
post #16 of 36 Old 04-12-2019, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,146
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
You don't mention the router you are using, I replaced mine recently with a NetGear Nighthawk AC1900 and I realize a lot of factors can come into play but I get a signal in my backyard about 100 feet from the router with my iPad.

One of the things that seemed to stand out when I was shopping was you get what you pay for when selecting a router. If the router you have doesn't have the range it may be more efficient in the long run to upgrade and use the one you have as a repeater for your shop.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
FrankC is online now  
post #17 of 36 Old 04-13-2019, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
_Ogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Motown
Posts: 357
View _Ogre's Photo Album My Photos
100 feet is well withing the length for cat 5 or 6 cable. i'd definitely try to pull wire thru it.
i'd also recommend you make sure the pipe is clear. buy a roll of masonry twine and use your shop vac to pull a small rag tied to the end of the twine. then use a bigger rag to clear the pipe. then pull the cable thru the poly pipe.

my shop is over 200 feet to the house. i have used a yagi router to pull wifi from my house to my barn. had the same router since 2000, originally bought it to share my internet with a neighbor. when he moved i sent it to my son to steal wifi from his neighbor :) if i ever run bigger power to my shop i will definitely run conduit for internet

google yagi router, i bought mine complete on ebay for $150. linksys router rooted with dd-wrt and the antennae. it has worked flawlessly for 20 years
_Ogre is offline  
post #18 of 36 Old 04-14-2019, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
croaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 471
View croaker's Photo Album My Photos
I am going to try to run cat 5 in the pipe will blow it out first.
Here is a picture to show about how far it is.
My house is the blue building on the right my shop is by my white van.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI1006.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	605.4 KB
ID:	374355  

croaker is offline  
post #19 of 36 Old 05-12-2019, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
croaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 471
View croaker's Photo Album My Photos
Pulled 150 feet cat6 through pipe have good internet in shop.
Catpower and Kerrys like this.
croaker is offline  
post #20 of 36 Old 05-14-2019, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
hawkeye10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Murfreesboro, Tn.
Posts: 1,052
View hawkeye10's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by croaker View Post
Water pipe might be kinda the wrong term.
My dad buried poly water pipe next to the electrical service to the garage to wash cars.
Over time it froze and leaked so quit using it.It is connected to nothing.
I think the distance to garage is less than 100 feet.
I really dislike wifi would prefer direct wired.
Why do you dislike wifi? It will be your cheapest and easiest (less work) way to do what you want.

Don in Murfreesboro, TN.
hawkeye10 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Designing & Building the Smallest Shop doc_cj Design & Plans 14 07-31-2017 09:23 AM
New Member Building A New Shop Jim Frye General Woodworking Discussion 4 08-26-2016 11:22 PM
Portable Dust Collection Cart with Noise Reduction & Dust Separator using Shop Vac pbriggs8 Dust Collection 3 04-09-2016 11:22 PM
Shop Heater Question- Hot Dawg Type Crick07 General Woodworking Discussion 5 01-07-2016 04:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome