How to check ground elevations cheap? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes

post #1 of 27 Old 04-18-2019, 02:12 PM Thread Starter

View Sleeper's Photo Album My Photos
How to check ground elevations cheap?

I have drainage problems on my property and want to add underground drain pipes to remove the excess water. I donít really want to buy a Survey Transit because Iíll only be using it once and I only need the elevations to find the low points.

I saw some workers using some sort of electronic device to mark fence posts that didn't look too expensive.

JohnnyB
"I do what I do well, but I still like to dabble in what I donít do well"
I just like to build with wood and a means to save money by doing it myself.
I've been building things out of wood for 40 years and I'm still just an amateur.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 04-18-2019, 02:34 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
A cheap level with built in laser

A spirit level with a laser on the end, mounted on a tripod will allow you to spin in 360 degrees and make marks on stakes you set in the ground where your questions are:
https://www.ebay.com/p/Big-Roc-Tools...3886519&chn=ps

A telescopic sight from a rifle secured in a tripod would work, but you would need to level it out first.

A 100 foot garden hose with a clear sections on the ends would work to show where level is when the bubbles are on previously made level marks:
https://www.buildeazy.com/waterlevel.php

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
The Following User Says Thank You to woodnthings For This Useful Post:
Sleeper (04-18-2019)
post #3 of 27 Old 04-18-2019, 03:09 PM Thread Starter