Blizzard of 2013 and now, Snowblower Rebuild - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 03-14-2013, 01:06 AM Thread Starter
Senior Sawdust Producer

View Leo G's Photo Album My Photos
Blizzard of 2013 and now, Snowblower Rebuild

Blew it up. Yep. The 2013 Blizzard did it in. I've been using the same Ariens 824 since 1989. Bought it new for $1100, the wife said we couldn't afford it and I said I didn't care, I wasn't going to shovel the 70' driveway by myself.

Well 24 years later I finally fried the engine. Yes, it had oil. I think the rod clamp bolt came loose. Didn't break the engine case, so if I can find parts it can be repaired.

But I won't be repairing it. I will be replacing it. I found a new equivalent engine. Mine was a 8HP, not sure if it was a Tecumseh Or s B&S as there were no markings on it. But I bought a new B&S. The don't come in HP flavor anymore, now they are rated in ft-lbs. The new engine is 11.5 ft-lbs. Both are 250cc.

I didn't think to take before pics of the snowblower.

Taking the engine off is easy. Remove 2 bolts that let you split the tractor and thrower section. Take off 2 belts, separate the two sections. Remove 2 wires from the key that open or close the circuit for the ignition, remove the 4 nuts and lift the engine off.

One of the first things I wanted to do was to replace the bearing for the fan that does the snow throwing. This should be easy. Except that it never is. 24 years is a long time for metal to be connected to each other and then come apart.

First I had to remove the large pulley. 3 nuts removed and it was off, easy.

Then I had to remove the pulley flange from the shaft. I removed 2 set screws from the flange and it should have come off. Riiiight.