Platform Bed Build - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 6Likes

post #1 of 32 Old 09-27-2019, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Student of the Wood

View ftnuna3819's Photo Album My Photos
Platform Bed Build

Morning! Thanks to David for the warm welcome yesterday. Profile updated and hoping to share with yinz my plans for upcoming platform bed frame build I'll be working on the next few weeks. I'm a novice woodworker, trying to use the tools I have and grow the garage "shop" slowly but surely. The deal I have with the missus is that as she sees fancy furniture out there online, if I can replicate it at home I get to spend the difference on tools.
So project at hand is based on the style and dimensions of an Urban Outfitters king-sized bed frame found here: link removed
Platform Bed Build-uo-platform-bed.jpg
After a bit of time working in Sketchup, I think I've got a design down that will fit the bill.

Couple screenshots attached, and I'll email the .skp to anyone who wants to take a closer look at it.
Platform Bed Build-bed-frame.jpg
Living in the FL panhandle, I haven't had much success finding a lumber shop around that carries anything outside of white oak. I have access to the standard big-box stores as well, though I haven't seen much of a hardwood selection in them either. So although the UO Frame is made from mango, white oak is what the main pieces of this build are going to be.
I've worked with a guy on Etsy to source the turned wood legs. Those are 3.25x3.25" square, and 13" high. They will arrive in 2-3 weeks, giving me the rest of that time to buy the materials and start getting some of the bigger pieces cut and glued up.