Woodworking Talk banner

This is my new job...

9K views 71 replies 9 participants last post by  John Smith_inFL 
#1 ·
Hi guys...

I always want to building 3 things in my life...

1) To build a wooden tiny house for myself....
I did do it 2 years ago...
You can read my story here...

https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f13/wooden-tiny-house-201010/

2) To build a wooden sail boat ...
I will do it in next 10 years...

3) To build a wooden real car...
I will do it in next 20 years

Next target TO BUILD A WOODEN SAIL BOAT...

I have never build a wooden sail boat before... How can i do that ??? I have to work near wooden boat builder master... I can learn somethings than him... but There is not any a wooden boat builder master in IZMIR... They are living in TRABZON , ORDU or SAMSUN... it is too far cities from me...

Anyway I find a job in the fiberglass boat factory... I am a student but I can work part time here... I am working woodworking in this factory... I am learning too much about to build a boat here .. my job is really very hard and too difficult...

We are using Teak wood for boat s hardware... Teak wood is really very expensive....
We are apply teak oil on it...

Sent from my SM-J700F using Tapatalk

See less See more
#8 ·
I had built 3 wooden boats in my life. My plans were purchased through https://www.glen-l.com/. Their plans are excellent and the patterns are full size. Their customer service is fantastic, they will help you over the phone if necessary.
Their plans are for wooden, fiberglass and steel boats - pick your choice. You can view their boat plans on line with all the specs. If you build the wooden boat and fiberglass the hull, you will have a nice boat. They also have a good book on building wooden boats.

It will take a while and you will need some covered space to do it in.

BTW, what do they use the pine and red oak for on a boat?

#10 ·