A deck for some friends. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 21 Old 04-10-2012, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

View jaydawg74's Photo Album My Photos
A deck for some friends.

Hi guys! Just wanted to show a deck I built for some good friends of mine. I also have some questions that some of you may be able to answer. Tell me what you think!

6x6 posts, 2x12 beams, 2x10 joists, 5/4x6 decking, 2x4s and 1x1s for railing. The stair treads were cut from 2x10s with 5/4 for the risers. We left a small gap between the tread and riser for water/snow drainage.

1. I built this deck for no fee. It was for some friends who are like family to me and he helped me so I didn't charge them. I'm not a professional deck builder, so I wanted to ask, how much would you guys charge to build this deck?

2. I have some concerns. One, should I install some cross bracing from post to post or maybe some Y braces from beam to post? I'm concerned with the deck racking and toppling over lol. I'm pretty sure it wont, but I did not install a ledger under the door so water has a place drain (yes, there is a ledger against the other wall).

3. I have some concerns over the stairs. A master stair builder I am not! My friend wants to add a lower deck in the near future so those steps will be somewhat rebuilt to sit on the future lower deck. Should I build a landing in between the decks when I build the lower deck? I used every bit of 3 2x12x16s for stringers and had to finagle them a bit to get them (what I think) is safely secured to the 6x6 sleeper we buried in the ground. I guess I'll find out when the inspector comes for a final inspection!

The Following User Says Thank You to jaydawg74 For This Useful Post:
mackem (04-12-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 04-10-2012, 12:43 PM

View buggyman1's Photo Album My Photos
Deck looks good. The bottom of the stairs are usually resting on piers or a concrete pad. Nice job on the deck.
post #3 of 21 Old 04-10-2012, 12:46 PM