Alternative Methods Challenge - Slant sided Jewelry Box - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 67 Old 09-22-2011, 02:57 AM Thread Starter

View johnnie52's Photo Album My Photos
Alternative Methods Challenge - Slant sided Jewelry Box

Welp, Here goes nothing...

For this challenge, I selected the slant sided jewelry box.

Having only a photo to go by,

I have spent a couple of days figuring out my own set of plans before cutting anything.

I'm not a Professional Wood Worker by any means, just another guy who enjoys making things with my hands and seeing the looks on the faces of family and friends when I give the things I've made as gifts. So you will see some mistakes and goof-ups along the way. Remember, its not the mistakes that matter, its how you deal with them that counts.

The box is built using contrasting woods. The light and dark colors add a nice detail to the project. Not being able to afford the more expensive woods, I used what I had on hand for this project. I'll be working with S4S Poplar and Red Oak for this build. Both of these are available at either Home Depot or Lowes and will not cost an arm and a leg. We'll see if these less expensive woods look as nice when assembled as some other selections that can cost over $100.00 and still need to be planed down to size. So far the total cost of lumber is $10.00 for a 3/4 x 6 x 48 length of Poplar and $0.00 for the Red Oak as this was given to me by my Brother in Law last year.

First lets talk about the tools needed for the build. I decided to use the fewest tools I could to show what could be done with only limited tools working in a confined workspace. We'll be working on half of a screened in car port, in a back yard 10'x10' shed, and out on a 8'x 8' deck.

First we'll need some things to layout and machine our work pieces.

A pencil, Tape Measure (a small 12 footer will do) A square, and an adjustable square handle the layout work.