2 months worth of work RESULTS! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 21 Old 08-16-2010, 05:16 PM Thread Starter

View skymonkey's Photo Album My Photos
2 months worth of work RESULTS!

I have been building this gun cabinet for about 2 months now for donation to the Rocky Mountian Elk Foundation for auction here locally in south eastern Ky. In 2 weeks is the elk expo and the banquet where the auction will be held. There is a $25 per person cover just to get into the auction and we have already sold over 350 tickets. So far this cabinet is the second biggest donation next to the bull tag which I expect to sell for atleast $10,000 or more. This will hopefully get my best work seen by thousands of people and hopefully jumpstart my shop with commissioned work. Eventually I hope to be able to quit my day job and make a living out of my shop and as an elk guide for hunting ( my freind is a guide that books solid 2 weeks after the draw comes out and makes $80k yr from this). Do you guys think I should add a bottom or let it stand flat on the floor the way it is? I have went back and forth on this issue for awile now. I think sitting flat adds to the rustic look I am looking for. I did all the edges with a draw knife incase anyone is wondering.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 08-16-2010, 07:09 PM
SS user

View Gene Howe's Photo Album My Photos
I like it! Nice work. It will get lots of bids.
As to the bottom, I'd leave it the way it is.
post #3 of 21 Old 08-16-2010, 07:30 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Looks good SM,
I think I would leave the bottom just the way it is. Looks nice and solid. Just needs to be surrounded by some nice sets of antlers.
Mike Hawkins
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 Old 08-16-2010, 07:56 PM Thread Starter