1st Bench Build - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 98Likes

post #1 of 121 Old 05-31-2018, 09:46 PM Thread Starter

View AmishElectricCo's Photo Album My Photos
1st Bench Build

Decided to finally dive in and build a workbench. I'm a total newbie and I want to work primarily with hand tools, so I settled on the Paul Sellers design. The plans are free, and he has a 10-part video series on how to build it. I think I've watched those videos at least 4 times.

I'll be documenting my build in this thread, so hopefully other newbies can learn from my misadventures and (hopefully) triumphs.

Step 1 is the top, and as I mentioned in another thread - I laminated 16 1x4 boards. I used a WoodRiver #5 jack plane to get the top flat and square. It was a lot of hard work, but the end result was well worth the effort. In the background, you can see some of my other recent projects: a miter saw station, a hand tool cabinet, tool wall, and clamp rack. That old bench along with wall will eventually get ripped out and replaced with this bench.

Questions:
I have a few spots of tearout on the top. I could plane these out, but my top is darn near perfect right now and I'd rather not risk screwing it up by planing it down even more. Recommended fix? Would it be okay to just mix up some sawdust with wood glue to patch those up and sand them out?

Also - probably get a hundred answers here, but what's a good finish to use?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180531_210242.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	354.2 KB
ID:	361842  

Name:	20180531_210426.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	206.1 KB
ID:	361850  

Toolman50 and JohnTC like this.

⚡ Anthony
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 121 Old 05-31-2018, 10:00 PM
Be Nice

View JohnTC's Photo Album My Photos