Woodmaster 4 in 1 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 06-12-2010, 11:44 AM Thread Starter

View Shannon's Photo Album My Photos
Woodmaster 4 in 1

I've found an 18" woodmaster planer/molder/sander/ripper. Bought in 98 and used to make trim for 6 houses. Comes with several molding blades. I feel like it's a good deal at $750 but I've never seen one in person, much less used one. Anyone have any experience with this tool? Are there any common problems related to it that should scare me off?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-12-2010, 06:10 PM

View ash123's Photo Album My Photos
Sounds like a deal. I have an 18" Woodmaster. I think I paid over $3,000 for mine. I didn't buy the rip setup or sanding rig with mine. I just use mine to make molding. It does fine. The company is top notch to work with.

I don't think they made too many three phase machines. That'd be something to look at unless you have 3 phase in your shop.
post #3 of 7 Old 06-13-2010, 01:50 AM
Old Methane Gas Cloud

View rrich's Photo Album My Photos
Shannon,
If you are intending to go into the molding business it is a great deal, assuming the Woodmaster still runs properly.

If you intend to make molding for your home, you need to answer the question: 'How much molding could I purchase for $750?'.

Use the right tool for the job.

Rich (Tilting right)
Huntington Beach, California
Remember that when we have the "BIG ONE" everything east of the Rockies falls into the ocean.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 06-13-2010, 05:14 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
If you have limited space, it's a great machine. It will do mouldings in a single pass, or multiples in a single pass. It will also convert to a planer, and a drum sander.

Knives are available in a wide variety. It's a well built machine. Some parts are interchangeable with the Belsaw. If you have 220V single phase, and 110V you're good to go.