Why does my saw now trip the surge protector, - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 29 Old 09-06-2015, 07:09 PM Thread Starter

View Masterjer's Photo Album My Photos
Why does my saw now trip the surge protector,

I've been using a 1.75hp table saw for a couple years now. It has been plugged into a 10 receptacle power strip designed for "garage" use and has a 15 amp built in breaker. This has worked great for a couple years. However, recently the power strip surge protector trips every time I turn on my saw. There is nothing else plugged into the power strip and no other tools running running on the circuit.

I tried a different power strip with the same results. I have been forced to run an extension cord from the wall outlet in order to use my saw. Any idea why this would have changed?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 09-06-2015, 07:43 PM
Wood Snob

View Al B Thayer's Photo Album My Photos
My guess is it's broken. But then I'm just a woodworker wondering why your using a surge protector on a table saw.

Al

post #3 of 29 Old 09-06-2015, 07:54 PM Thread Starter

The main reason is because in my small shop I have very few outlets and a lot of tools that need to be plugged in. The power strip seems to work great for all of them (jointer, planer, bandsaw, SCMS, DC, spindle sander, etc) except the TS.

I do have a lonely 220V outlet that is begging for my TS to get rewired. Honestly, I want to convert the TS to 220 but am a little bit intimidated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 29 Old 09-06-2015, 08:12 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Fear not!

With a proper diagram usually found under the plate or right on the motor decal you will have no problems. I would take a photo of the wires as they are at present however.

Here's a sample diagram, probably like yours....

Your motor will have terminals labled as T1, T2 etc OR it may have color coded wires. red, black white etc. just follow the diagram.