Where to find old machines? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 6Likes

post #1 of 21 Old 12-20-2019, 01:16 AM Thread Starter

View Sawyer Zuniga's Photo Album My Photos
Question Where to find old machines?

I was just curious on the best way to find old machines. I am a new woodworker and I have pretty much everything I need but was just wondering, when I decide to upgrade to bigger ones in the future.

Sawyer Zuniga
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 12-20-2019, 03:18 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Once you find them ......

Shipping will be the biggest issue once you find them. My buddy has got some awesome deals on Ebay, but he had to drive several hundred miles to pick them up. You will need a truck and a flatbed trailer. The auctions would state "Local Pickup Only".
Estate auctions, school actions, government auctions and other sources. Furniture making companies are going out of business, often selling machines at very low prices. There are auction sites online that list the machines they have.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 21 Old 12-20-2019, 09:31 AM

View JohnGi's Photo Album My Photos
Craigslist is good for tools.
The Wisconsin online auction website frequently has surplus school shop tools.
Woodweb is a site for commercial woodworkers. It has a tab for used tools for sale that can be sorted by location. Mostly factory machines, but a few smaller commercial tools.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 Old 12-20-2019, 10:12 AM

View AwesomeOpossum74's Photo Album My Photos
If you're lucky, you might find a woodworking group in your area that could help you find good tools locally. It pays to network.
MEP1 and Tool Agnostic like this.

Geoff
post #5 of 21 Old 12-20-2019, 11:46 AM

View Pirate's Photo Album My Photos