where do i start? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 01-25-2012, 10:03 AM Thread Starter

View redline9k's Photo Album My Photos
where do i start?

My background is about 8yrs in residential remodeling, and I have the tools and experience for that sort of work, but any fine woodworking ive tried to do with those tools fights me to the end with results im not completely thrilled with.

Id like to try my hand at some cabinets, benches, small tables, etc. Id like to get your opinions on where to start improving and adding to my tools.

I read the forum all the time and each time come away wanting a new TS, planer, jointer, router table, dovetail jigs, drill press, DC, etc and then get overwhelmed and never start anything. I appreciate nice tools, and although used is a great deal, I would rather buy new and not worry that something is wrong...the catch being I do have a budget, and im going to have to do this a piece at a time. Once Uncle Sam comes through, Ive probably got about 700 or so to spend for now.

At this point i have basic contractor tools;
  • well worn ridgid portable TS...its ok, but its not sturdy and on its last legs. I dont trust it much, and any large sheet goods i rip w/ circular+straight edge and finish w router
  • DW 10" miter
  • DW fixed base router (no table)
  • PC circular/ Bosch jig saw
  • compressor, nailers, etc
  • Bosch cord/cordless drills (no drill press)
  • PC RO/belt sanders, buffer, etc.
Ill have a 15x15 unfinished basement to work in, but first id need to add some sort of DC to keep the wife happy.

Anyway, where would you start to get the most benefit for your money?

Last edited by redline9k; 01-25-2012 at 10:07 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-25-2012, 10:37 AM
The village amadán.

View Mr Mac's Photo Album My Photos