Upgrade saw motor - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By Boricuacarpentry
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-25-2019, 11:15 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 13
View Boricuacarpentry's Photo Album My Photos
Upgrade saw motor

Is a 1hp radial saw enough for cutting hardwoods (mainly maple, alder, poplar, and beech)? If not is it possible to upgrade the motor? I have a delta super 900
Boricuacarpentry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 12:23 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 25,302
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Yes, and No .....

Probably not enough for ripping 2" thick stock.

Probably enough for crosscutting up to 2" thick stock with a aggressive tooth blade. You would have to experiment to find out which blade and hook angle works best for your conditions.


"Cutting" means knowing wood type, grain direction and thickness to us experienced woodworkers. All cuts are not equal.



Upgrading a RAS motor won't happen. They are too specific and have too many specific attachment points in my experience. Want a bigger motor? Get a bigger motor to start with.
hawkeye10 likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 06-26-2019 at 12:25 AM.
woodnthings is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 12:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 4,898
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
The only upgrade would be to switch it over to 220 volts if it is running on 110 now, other than that you will have to take woodnthings advice on blade selection.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”
― Marcus Aurelius
FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
FrankC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 09:40 AM
Moderator
 
Steve Neul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,771
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The saw would cut hardwood as long as you went slow with it and gave it enough time to cut. It can easily grab and stop the blade completely.
Steve Neul is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 13
View Boricuacarpentry's Photo Album My Photos
I only plan on using the saw for cutting cabinet 3/4 material rails and stiles
woodnthings likes this.
Boricuacarpentry is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 4,898
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Well you have me confused, do you already have the Super 900, if so try a cut or two using some scrap hardwood similar to what you need for rails and styles. Should be no problem with that saw.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”
― Marcus Aurelius
FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
FrankC is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 13
View Boricuacarpentry's Photo Album My Photos
Yes i already have the saw. I got it without thinking about it for $50. Then realized it was only a 1hp. I replaced the power cord on it because it was probably the original cable and was tearing on every end. It does turn on, I have to build a bench top for it then I’ll try it out on actual lumber
Boricuacarpentry is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 03:55 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 25,302
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
no issues then ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boricuacarpentry View Post
I only plan on using the saw for cutting cabinet 3/4 material rails and stiles

Ripping takes the most power, hardwood takes more power than softwood, ..... typically. Sheet goods are the easiest on the motor because there's no grain and they are thinner. A 60 tooth blade Diablo, should be just fine and that's what I have on my Craftsman RAS. It's not the "correct" blade because it still has a positive hook angle. The "proper" blade will have a zero or negative hook angle and those are made for RAS:
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=radial+ar...l_20j5d4ikp7_b

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-26-2019, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 13
View Boricuacarpentry's Photo Album My Photos
Oh ok. Awesome. Good to know. Thanks for the link!
Boricuacarpentry is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome