TS first purchase help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 09-24-2008, 04:06 PM Thread Starter

View bemgolf's Photo Album My Photos
TS first purchase help

Alright this site has helped me get my router and sander. I am now needing info for a tablesaw (My First) I have been looking around and have been looking at Delta, Jet and Grizzly. I see the one I want is anywhere from $900 to about $1200. Is there any other in his price range. I am going to be starting woodworking and being a novice I guess I will be in the cabinet some furniture, and home remodeling woodworker. Thanks for your help in my first TS.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-24-2008, 04:34 PM

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
Table saw type is actually more important than brand IMO. The three you mentioned are all good names. Your price range will just get you into an industrial style cabinet saw, which is pretty much what many of us aspire to own someday....3hp, cabinet mounted trunnions, massive industrial grade build quality that'll last for decades. Note that they do require 220v operation. At ~ $1k, one of the Grizzly 1023 models are very popular and offer the biggest bang for the buck IMO. If you don't have 220v, and can't or won't ever have it, look towards a hybrid which is a full size cast iron saw with a belt drive internally mounted induction motor that'll run on a standard 120v outlet. Hybrids offer several of the same advantages of a cabinet saw but with lower power and a lighter duty rating.

I'd add Steel City, General International, and Shop Fox to that list....SF is owned by the same man who owns Grizzly, but they offer dealer support and a 2 year warranty.
post #3 of 6 Old 09-24-2008, 05:06 PM
Thumb Nailer

View dbhost's Photo Album My Photos
For safety reasons, you will want to look for a saw with a true riving knife as well.. Just something to consider...