tolerable starter portable table saw? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 01-15-2011, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
jrr

View jrr's Photo Album My Photos
tolerable starter portable table saw?

First of all, hello! I'm brand new to both woodworking and this forum.

I'm looking for my first table saw, and was hoping to use some sears gift cards leftover from my wedding. (about $700 of 'em!) I've read through some of the other table saw advice threads and I realize that a low-end portable won't keep a woodworker happy for very long.. but I also don't have much workshop room! I have a small two car garage that I'd like to keep the cars in; no basement or shed.

I'm planning to build some furniture, mostly shelves and drawers, all very simple and square. The designs in my head call for ripping plywood and edge-glued stain-grade panels, as well as a some 3/4" dado cuts. Would I be better off starting with hand tools? Trying my darnedest to rip straight with my circular saw, and buying a router(+table) for dados?

From what I've read, many low-end table saws suffer from non-standard fittings for various accessories and blades, as well as inaccurate guides. It also seems that few low-end saws will take 3/4" dado blades. If portables from other manufacturers/stores are a lot better, I'd be willing to buy elsewhere and save the sears cards for later - it's not like I won't be buying craftsman hand tools for the rest of my life =]

In short, "what's the most tolerable portable table saw for a beginner?" Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-15-2011, 01:38 PM

View Julian the woodnut's Photo Album My Photos