• 4 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By rkrcpa
  • 1 Post By JohnGi
  • 1 Post By Rodango

post #1 of 11 Old 07-20-2020, 11:39 PM Thread Starter

View therold's Photo Album My Photos
Table saw troubleshooting

Hi all,

I recently bought a used Craftsman 10" bench saw (model no. 113.29943) and have had trouble getting it to work. I'm fairly new to both woodworking and machinery, so I'm not particularly knowledgeable when it comes to either. I was hoping I could find help troubleshooting on here and get the saw operational.

The issue is that, upon turning on, the saw will run for 1-2 seconds, and then trip the surge protector and shut off. While on, the saw blade usually turns about a quarter revolution at most before stalling, and it is while the blade is stalled that the surge protector is tripped.

One thought I had is that the belt was too tight, so I played around with different tightnesses. At one point I did find a tightness at which the saw seemed to work. It ran for multiple seconds, but it sounded too loose (why, I'm not sure, as I had no actual reference) so I cut the power and tightened the belt slightly--only to have original problem resume. Since then, I have tried again with a looser belt and not found a tightness at which the saw will reliably run. Outside of that one instance, it always trips the surge protector within a couple seconds of receiving power.

Another thought I had regarded power supply, but, while I don't know enough to say for certain, it doesn't seem like this should be an issue based on the specifications on my breaker box and the motor (breaker rated for 120V & 100 amp max, motor 115V & 14A; pictures attached). I've also included a picture of the specific circuit on which I've tried running the saw (circled in red in picture), which is marked "20" (without a unit).