Woodworking Talk banner

table saw pricing

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  ChiknNutz 
#1 ·
I was window shopping at Lowe's on Saturday and saw that the Delta 36-725, the DeWalt DWE7491RS, and Bosch 1400-10 are all the same price ($599). Is there some reason as to why the prices are the same? The Delta seems like a more substantial table saw because of the larger heavier table, the induction motor, and (what seemed to me) a better fence system.

#2 ·
I don't know ... why ???? They are same price...sometimes really I don't understand companies price politics...

I don't know Delta 36-725
I have no experience about it...

My personal choose is DEWALT DWE7491 RS..

BOSCH 1400-10 is volume control buton..

Are you sure write to correct numbers ????

Sent from my SM-J700F using Tapatalk

#4 ·
Different profit margins for different companies branding, and trying to keep a competitive price My bet is that either the DeWalt or Bosch was released first at a low price and Delta lowered theirs to be competitive, or the Delta launched at a higher price, one of the other two undercut the price and Delta lowered in response. The Delta i know used to go for $699.

Also, i own the Delta, and i can vouch for it. Its a fantastically good saw for the price

#5 ·
Sorry if this offends anyone, but I would stay away from what I term "consumer" machines.

I recommend these 3 features: an induction motor, cast iron trunnions, trunnions mounted directly to tabletop, not the frame.

If you'll look closely most of these machines are direct drive motors (translation low hp), in reality just a little better than a circular saw. You will also see some with stamped steel trunnions and minimal, lightweight cast iron in the top.

The fence systems have come a long way, even the cheapest saws have fairly decent fences, but IMO you just can't beat a Beismeyer.