Table rotation (bevel) lock on Craftsman drill press - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 07-05-2013, 01:35 PM Thread Starter

View timg11's Photo Album My Photos
Table rotation (bevel) lock on Craftsman drill press

I have the Craftsman 15" drill press (model 137.229250). I have never used this feature before, but I recently wanted to turn the table 90 degrees to drill into the end of a board. The manual shows the bevel locking bolt and the bevel locking pin under the table. The manual says to "tighten the nut on the locking pin clockwise to release it from the table support". I used a socket wrench to tighten it several turns. When loosening the larger bevel locking bolt, the table becomes free enough to wiggle around, but it will still not rotate. I tried tightening the locking nut some more, but it seems to turn without moving. I kept tightening it for several minutes, but it never unlocked, and never seemed to move or get tighter or looser. It is too stiff to turn with my fingers, but easily turns when using a socket set with enough resistance to rachet on the back stroke. I tried pulling the locking bolt with pliers to see if it would disengage, but it did not help.

Can anyone explain how the locking bolt is supposed to work, and what to do if it seems to fail to disengage?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 07-05-2013, 03:28 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
What about the set screw mentioned in the manual?

"1. To use the table in a bevel (tilted) position, turn the locking screw (2) with the hex key counterclockwise to release it from the table support.
2. Loosen the large hex head bevel locking bolt (3)"

I would expect the large hex head bolt is normal thread so anti-clockwise to loosen.
post #3 of 4 Old 10-30-2018, 05:30 PM

View PTC01's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Paine View Post
What about the set screw mentioned in the manual?