Sunborn 22 Gal horz compressor - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Roybrew
  • 1 Post By FrankC
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By FrankC
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 05-30-2019, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mjadams61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rockwall Texas
Posts: 355
View mjadams61's Photo Album My Photos
Sunborn 22 Gal horz compressor

I went to a estate sale with my wife just to get out of the house. I really wasnt looking for anything so I wonder around in the 4 car garage and wow found a older sunborn 22 gallon horz compressor. The plug was kinda wire nutted on the old cord and look like its been used for painting. I ask the guy running the estate sale if it worked and he said yea and it he also said it held pressure but the regulator didnt worked. So he plug it up and I flip the switch and it made a little racket because the cover for the pulleys was rubbing and I watch it build up pressure to about 80 and we turned it off. It was marked for 45 dollars but since the regulator was not working I got it for 30 dollars.

My wife and mom got a couple of things and we got it loaded with the help of the guy running the estate sale and got it home and had my son and daughter help me unload it and got it on the back porch.

I could not find a model number no where on it (sticker for model and s/n missing) so I did a little internet searching and found one just like it
and it had a model number listed so I found the parts to fix the regulator and will order the parts friday or saturday plus replace the power cord and also put the pressure relief valve back on it since whoever took it off and made it to have a dual air hose coupler.

But to fix it plus what I paid for it will be less than 100 dollars and also it oil and it is pretty dang quite so it will be in my shop :)

And it still held at 80 psi after 2 hours :)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190530_120507880.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	585.0 KB
ID:	375853  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190530_120456023.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	584.4 KB
ID:	375855  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190530_114113207.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	669.1 KB
ID:	375857  


Marlin
mjadams61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-31-2019, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mjadams61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rockwall Texas
Posts: 355
View mjadams61's Photo Album My Photos
LOL sorry sanborn compressor

Marlin
mjadams61 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-01-2019, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Roybrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 243
View Roybrew's Photo Album My Photos
Looks like a great deal. What's that little knob on the tank center of base for motor and compressor? Is that a 110 volt motor?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
mjadams61 likes this.
Roybrew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 06-01-2019, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,356
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Here is a bit of reinforcement about Sanborn:

https://www.compressorforce.com/sanb...essor-reviews/
mjadams61 likes this.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
FrankC is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-01-2019, 04:23 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,182
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
A tank pressure gauge......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roybrew View Post
Looks like a great deal. What's that little knob on the tank center of base for motor and compressor? Is that a 110 volt motor?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

a tank pressure gauge

I also wondered about the motor wiring as it states 2 1/2 HP which is not typical for 120 volt wiring, but 240 volts.
mjadams61 likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-01-2019, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,356
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Apparently it can be wired for either voltage:

https://offerup.com/item/detail/351989338/

Compressor manufactures are well known for being optimistic about stated HP.
mjadams61 likes this.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
FrankC is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-01-2019, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mjadams61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rockwall Texas
Posts: 355
View mjadams61's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjadams61 View Post
LOL sorry sanborn compressor
If you mean that little knob next to the 2 air hose connector that the knob for the regulator and it dont work and its 120volt. But I found a place online that has parts for it so I ordered a kit for the regulator and a safety valve and filter and gaskets for the air intake that was taken off and replace with a air hose connector so whoever owned it wanted to run 2 hoses off it.

Please delete this post i just made moderators :) dint notice question answered and quoted wrong post.

Marlin

Last edited by mjadams61; 06-01-2019 at 07:33 PM.
mjadams61 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-01-2019, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mjadams61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rockwall Texas
Posts: 355
View mjadams61's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankC View Post
Apparently it can be wired for either voltage:

https://offerup.com/item/detail/351989338/

Compressor manufactures are well known for being optimistic about stated HP.
Well heck I have a 220v outlet in my shop I aint using. I am gonna lookup the wiring on that motor and convert it to 220v so that way it has it own dedicated power and I dont have to worry about tripping breakers on my 2 120v 20 amp circuits if I plug my jobsite saw or run my small A/C window unit.

Marlin
mjadams61 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome