Stripped my arbor (jam) nut...Rats. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 12-18-2009, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Sawdust Producer

View Leo G's Photo Album My Photos
Stripped my arbor (jam) nut...Rats.

Saw if pretty new, about 2 years. I do this for a living and I know how to tighten the nut. Just a bit of pressure and the spring washer will do the rest.

I am working on some man-doors and need to make a 3/4" thick tenon. So I made a spacer that is a bit bigger than 3/4" to account for the blade hangover on the plate and did my setup. Worked nice.

Then I decided instead of using my dado blade for the groove I would buy a 3/4" cutter for my shaper. Well, I set up the cutter to produce a 1" deep x 3/4" high groove. I take out the calipers and instead of .750" or something close I get .773". 0.023" to wide. That is a whole lot of extra. So I measure the cutter and the biggest carbide was .763" but they are misaligned with each other by a bit and whatever run out I have gets another .010". Well, onto the story.

I have to make my tenon a bit thicker and I put in a .019 spacer and put the nut on. It spins around on me. WTF? I'm hoping right now that I didn't strip the arbor. After a bunch of testing and then putting the nut on the arbor and moving it back and forth and watching it move about 3/64" in either direction I am convinced the nut is dead.

Called up my local repair shop and they have a few. Got two of them for $20.

But what gets me is this saw isn't that old and I treat it well. And the nut wore out in that short of a period of time. I have an older Jet saw that is 20 years old and I used it daily for 15 years. The arbor nut is still good.

I guess they make the nuts softer than the arbor so it gets damaged instead of the arbor. Still, it doesn't make me any happier that I had to lose 2 hours out of my production for the day. Especially when I have projects due for before Christmas.