Sticky Miter Slots - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 01-24-2017, 08:51 PM Thread Starter

View digitaladdictions's Photo Album My Photos
Sticky Miter Slots

I am new to woodworking. I just purchased a DEWALT DWE7491RS job site saw. This is just a stopgap until I can get a cabinet saw. I realize this will never be as good as a full-size cabinet saw. Being a job site saw it has a painted cast aluminum table top. I noticed on my very first project that the hardwood runners I made for a crosscut sled are binding at certain spots and had paint from the table top rubbing off on them. I suppose I could try to file the miter slots but I I would prefer to try other less destructive solutions first. I have a polyurethane cutting board in the mail and hope making runners from this will slide better than oak.

My question is would stripping the paint and apply some other protective such as wax be a good idea. Or would I regret doing this? The saw will never leave my basement so I am not worried about it being exposed to the elements.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-24-2017, 09:38 PM

View bargoon's Photo Album My Photos
If you are using two runners on the cross-cut sled it could be that they are not exactly parallel to each other. When I have made jigs for a tablesaw and they are sticky I keep pushing them in/out of the slots until they slide better - time consuming but you don't want to get them sloppy in the slots.
post #3 of 9 Old 01-24-2017, 09:55 PM
Interested Observer

View subroc's Photo Album My Photos
My first cross cut sled effort had a binding issue. I hand worked the runners for bit of time. Then I reached for the wax and waxed the bottom of the sled and the runners. The thing slid just fine but illustrated that my hand work effort was over done and the sled was loose.

We learn through our mistakes.

Good luck
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 01-24-2017, 10:06 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos