• 1 Post By notskot
  • 1 Post By notskot
  • 1 Post By Catpower
  • 1 Post By Catpower
  • 1 Post By Catpower

post #1 of 18 Old 06-06-2017, 10:58 PM Thread Starter

View Wil_Bloodworth's Photo Album My Photos
Question Startup / Shutdown Sound of JET XACTA

Does the table saw have a break? I am just wondering if the shutdown sound it makes at the end is normal. Here is short video I posted on YouTube:

Great Success REQUIRES Great Effort
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-07-2017, 10:45 AM Thread Starter

Really... no one?

post #3 of 18 Old 06-07-2017, 02:32 PM

View Techsniffer's Photo Album My Photos
It has a break on it, I think it sounds normal, but that would be relative as I have no experience with this table saw. It sounds a little "rougher" than the breaks I've heard on the SawStop and Powermatic. But this could also be because its new and the brake is unused, its hard to say.
Wil_Bloodworth likes this.

To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson
The Following User Says Thank You to Techsniffer For This Useful Post:
Wil_Bloodworth (06-07-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 Old 06-07-2017, 02:37 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techsniffer View Post
It has a break on it, I think it sounds normal, but that would be relative as I have no experience with this table saw. It sounds a little "rougher" than the breaks I've heard on the SawStop and Powermatic. But this could also be because its new and the brake is unused, its hard to say.
Ok. Thanks. I figured it was a brake but I couldn't find anything in the manual or online about it.

- Wil

post #5 of 18 Old 06-07-2017, 02:43 PM Thread Starter

Just got off the phone with one of JET's technicians and he said that this machine does have a "centrifugal switch" which acts as a brake. Therefore, the noise is normal by design.

post #6 of 18 Old 06-07-2017, 02:58 PM

Quote: