Spiral Mortise Router Bit Question (or three) - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 09-15-2012, 06:38 PM Thread Starter

View Wood4Brains's Photo Album My Photos
Spiral Mortise Router Bit Question (or three)

Hi there, Everyone:

Are all the decent spiral mortise router bits in the $60 and above range? Are there no spiral mortise bits in the $20 and UNDER range?

(And why are masonry bits so much cheaper than wood bits?)

Also, if you are going to cut, for example, a 3/8th inch mortise, can you use a smaller bit (1/4 inch, for example) and just make two passes? (One on each side of the mortise.)

Or do you need a 3/8 inch spiral bit for a 3/8 inch mortise?

Thanks in advance.

I'm An Expert In Ugly!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-15-2012, 10:50 PM
John

View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wood4Brains View Post
Hi there, Everyone:

Are all the decent spiral mortise router bits in the $60 and above range? Are there no spiral mortise bits in the $20 and UNDER range?

(And why are masonry bits so much cheaper than wood bits?)

Also, if you are going to cut, for example, a 3/8th inch mortise, can you use a smaller bit (1/4 inch, for example) and just make two passes? (One on each side of the mortise.)

Or do you need a 3/8 inch spiral bit for a 3/8 inch mortise?

Thanks in advance.
Getting deals is getting tougher these days. Best I could find tonite was MLCS for $40 (1/2" spiral upcut). I used to be able to get those in the Bosch flavor from Cripe distributing for under $20 but they aren't even listing spiral bits now.
Keep an eye on this eBay vendor
http://stores.ebay.com/LMT-Onsrud-Router-Bits-and-Blades?_rdc=1