Smallest Safe Rip Cut on Table Saw? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By JIMMIEM
  • 1 Post By redeared

post #1 of 14 Old 06-29-2020, 01:20 PM Thread Starter
Jopoien

View Jared Opoien's Photo Album My Photos
Smallest Safe Rip Cut on Table Saw?

Hi everyone, I'm very new to woodworking, and my in-laws got a Dewalt table saw for me. What is the smallest rip cut I can safely make on this? I wanted to rip 1/16 off of 2x4s in order to make their sides close to flush, then plane the sides. Would this be safe? Should I just plane the 1/16 off and forget about using the table saw for the sides? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 06-29-2020, 01:31 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Safety depends on the length, not the width ...

You can safely rip any width you need as long as the length is well supported against the fence, typically no less than 10" long. The cut off will fall harmlessly to the left of the blade no matter how wide it is from virtually zero to 3" on a 2 x 4.

The issue is ... how far from the blade should you/can you set the fence? For safety, you should never put your hand or fingers between the blade and fence unless there is about 6" of space, anything less requires a "push block".

Push "sticks" are NOT my preferred way of pushing material between the blade and fence UNLESS there is only 1/2" or less. A sacrificial push block is one where you cut right into the stop shoe as it passes over the blade for narrow rips. Make several of these best/easiest push DIY block:

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 06-29-2020 at 01:49 PM.
post #3 of 14 Old 06-29-2020, 01:38 PM

View JIMMIEM's Photo Album My Photos