Shop Fox mortiser question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By bargoon
  • 1 Post By Chris86
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lumpkin, GA
Posts: 192
View Chris86's Photo Album My Photos
Hey everybody. Just the other day I came across a shop fox w1671 mortising machine in a pawn shop for less than half the price of a new one. It was missing the gas spring, which I have already ordered, but otherwise seems to be in good shape. However, I did notice about 1/32" of side to side slop in the head because there seems to be no way to adjust the slop out where the columns go thru the head. Is this something I should be worried about?

Last edited by Chris86; 12-14-2019 at 09:26 AM.
Chris86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 433
View bargoon's Photo Album My Photos
I read a magazine review a few years ago that rated the Shop Fox mortiser as the best (at that time anyway) bench top mortiser.
Believe its sold by Grizzly, you might try posing this question to them.
woodnthings likes this.

THE GOOD NEWS: You create your own destiny...THE BAD NEWS: You create your own destiny
bargoon is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 11:45 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,250
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
How about a photo?

If I recall my Powermaatic bench top, also "top of the Line" has a geared rack that runs up the column inside the dovetail ways. The means to snug the fit on doevetail ways it to tighten the gib screws that press inwards toward the dovetail on one side.

See if yours is like that and if so, loosen the retaining nuts, give each screw a clockwise turn until a slight resistance is felt, then tighten the nut. There should be 6 or so screws......

If your is like this, with two round columns, then I'd be calling Grizzly tech support.


The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 12-14-2019 at 02:03 PM.
woodnthings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lumpkin, GA
Posts: 192
View Chris86's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
If I recall my Powermaatic bench top, also "top of the Line" has a geared rack that runs up the column inside the dovetail ways. The means to snug the fit on doevetail ways it to tighten the gib screws that press inwards toward the dovetail on one side.

See if yours is like that and if so, loosen the retaining nuts, give each screw a clockwise turn until a slight resistance is felt, then tighten the nut. There should be 6 or so screws......


If your is like this, with two round columns, then I'd be calling Grizzly tech support.

Mine is the one you're showing with the two columns. I've looked all over the machine, there is no way to adjust it.
Chris86 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lumpkin, GA
Posts: 192
View Chris86's Photo Album My Photos
Here it is
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191212-111738_1576341429168.png
Views:	24
Size:	1.63 MB
ID:	382139  

Chris86 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Kerrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: NW Washington State
Posts: 768
View Kerrys's Photo Album My Photos
I have the same machine. I haven’t noticed any play in the thing but will check when I get to the shop. I usually fine tune the mortises using a chisel after using the machine to remove the bulk of the material. I guess a 32nd could result in being a 16th off if it happens on both ends of the mortise.
Kerrys is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 02:18 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,250
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
How are the columns attached?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris86 View Post
Mine is the one you're showing with the two columns. I've looked all over the machine, there is no way to adjust it.

If you can loosen one of the columns from underneath and move it sideways, that may remove the slop in the head.... I donno?

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-14-2019, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lumpkin, GA
Posts: 192
View Chris86's Photo Album My Photos
Update: I found that if I loosen the bolts on the top of the columns, I could move the column slightly in any direction. I haven't looked on the bottom yet, but I assume I could loosen them at the bottom too. I should be able to tighten up the slop this way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1214191329_1576348185615.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	284.3 KB
ID:	382149  

woodnthings likes this.
Chris86 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-15-2019, 09:00 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,250
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Did that work OK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris86 View Post
Update: I found that if I loosen the bolts on the top of the columns, I could move the column slightly in any direction. I haven't looked on the bottom yet, but I assume I could loosen them at the bottom too. I should be able to tighten up the slop this way.

I knew there had to be a way either from the bottom or as you found, from the top.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-15-2019, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lumpkin, GA
Posts: 192
View Chris86's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris86 View Post
Update: I found that if I loosen the bolts on the top of the columns, I could move the column slightly in any direction. I haven't looked on the bottom yet, but I assume I could loosen them at the bottom too. I should be able to tighten up the slop this way.

I knew there had to be a way either from the bottom or as you found, from the top. [IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/images/smilies/smile.png[/IMG]
Yes that seems to have tightened it up &#x1f60a;
Chris86 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome