Shipping Heavy Machines? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 16Likes

post #1 of 34 Old 04-10-2017, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

View Wil_Bloodworth's Photo Album My Photos
Shipping Heavy Machines?

I own no (major) power tools but am going to buy several large machines (Grizzly) that weigh quite a lot. I have watched some YouTube videos and it seems like the people receiving the machines from UPS Freight have a hand truck so they are able to take the machines off the UPS truck themselves.

Is having a hand truck a requirement for taking receipt of these large machines? I do not have a hand truck nor do I want to own one as I have nowhere to store it.

My apologies for what seems like a really dumb question... I'm brand new to woodworking so... thank you for any advice you care to give.

Wil

Great Success REQUIRES Great Effort
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 04-10-2017, 10:49 AM

View mikechell's Photo Album My Photos
If you order a large, heavy item from a company that offers delivery ... it is their responsibility to deliver it to your door. If they ship it UPS, and UPS refuses to off load it from their truck, do NOT do it for them.
The shipping entity is responsible for setting up the delivery, and a lift gate vehicle and a hand cart, etc. are part of that arrangement.

On the other hand, moving large equipment around a shop often requires a hand cart.
If you have room for the large equipment, you basically have room for a hand cart, since it can fit in a rather small area when not in use.
Harbor Freight has them fro reasonable prices.
subroc likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to mikechell For This Useful Post:
Wil_Bloodworth (04-10-2017)
post #3 of 34 Old 04-10-2017, 10:54 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikechell View Post